Chicken curry with Potatoes

img_2078

I make chicken curry often and there are many many ways to make it. It depends on my mood and what I have around. This is a simple version where I tried something new – I will tell you about it.

img_2026

img_2027

First thing I did was use lamb fat that I had in the freezer from a time I had made a leg of lamb.

Always skim and save the fat for using in dishes at a later date.

The lamb fat provided a depth of flavor to the chicken.

I added cumin seeds and green chilies to the fat.
img_2029

img_2031

Cook them for a couple of minutes and then add sliced onions.
Add salt and brown the onions for about 10 minutes.

img_2032

img_2037

While the onions are browning, I prep the other ingredients. Mince fresh ginger, peel garlic and dice tomatoes.

img_2037

img_2041

Next, I place the skinless chicken drumsticks in the pan. You can use any pieces of chicken. I move the onions to a side and place the chicken in the pan, so they can sear a little.

Move the onion mixture over the chicken and let the chicken brown for a few minutes.

img_2043

Now add the spices:
Coriander powder
Cumin Powder
Cayenne pepper or any red chili you like.

img_2045

Mix well and then cook the spices in the chicken and onion mix for a couple of minutes.

It is important that the spices cook before the addition of an acid, tomatoes in this case.

img_2047

img_2049

I added diced yukon cold potatoes and diced tomatoes.

img_2052

Stir and add some water to create a sauce.

Now bring to a boil and then lower to a simmer.
Cover and wait for the potatoes and chicken to cook through.

img_2055

img_2056

In the meantime, I add chopped garlic to yogurt and chopped up some cilantro and dill. You can also use mint.

Now this is the new technique that I used:

img_2063

img_2067

I add some of the sauce created from the curry into the yogurt. Stir well and then add the yogurt into the sauce. This tempering will allow the yogurt from looking curdled.

Now heat the yogurt through. Stir well and taste for seasoning.

So what was new :
I added raw garlic towards the end and then barely heat it through, so the garlic flavor is pronounced.

I added yogurt in the end to change the consistency and color of the sauce.

img_2073

img_2074

Next I add the fresh herbs and a sprinkle of garam masala which is a spice blend I make with cinnamon, cloves, whole peppercorns and cardamom.
Make sure you don’t cook the curry too much more after you add the garam masala and it can turn bitter.

Serve hot with roti or rice.

Until I cook again!

2 thoughts on “Chicken curry with Potatoes

Leave a Reply

